Promise yourself to be so noble that nothing can disturb your peace of mind

IMG_3931

This quote moves me. It is a vision statement, the person I strive to be:

Promise yourself to be so noble that nothing can disturb your peace of  mind. To talk health, happiness and prosperity to every person you meet.

To make all your friends feel there is something in them. To look at the sunny side of everything and make you optimism come true. To think only of the best, to work only for the best and expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others as you are about your own. To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful  countenance at all times and give every living creature you meet a smile. To give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.       -Christian D. Larson

Self-defeating behaviors of mind and spirit

Perhaps this speaks to me, because I get stuck on many of the things he mentions. As I have cleared out unneeded crap from my living space, I’ve also been facing a lot of unnecessary crap within myself. We carry so many self-defeating behaviors of mind and spirit that we are never aware of. Relics from our childhood and poor habits we have picked up along the way. In my head it was just self-talk, but now I see it for what it really is: a constant stream of negativity, keeping me from my joyous self.

I can really be a head case. If left unchecked, I can get obsessive about really unimportant things. I used to be a real worrier, spending days fretting about things that NEVER happened. It’s exhausting and pointless and it kept me always focused on the worst thing that could happen.

A constant state of negativity and pessimism

I think many people live in that space, with the negatives heightened and the positives overlooked. Our media feeds it, they chuck horrendous sound bites at us with no depth, no real information at all, and we are left to process really distressing information with no context, understanding or follow-up.

Think about every evening news commercial during sweeps week on TV.  “Are the pans you are cooking with RIGHT NOW poisoning your family? Tune in at ten.” That shit penetrates my psyche, adds to my mental list of shit to worry about that I have NO CONTROL over. It was added to the roaring gray noise in my head of  things which I am responsible for, but which I am powerless to change.

It left me back in that miserable state: helpless and hopeless. Do I watch the story at ten? Of course not, TV reporting is the LOWEST form of journalism, the worst source of news and information, in my humble opinion. But they are the loudest and most accessible, so they reach us with their irresponsible reporting. And we swallow the shit sandwich, because we live on junk food for our minds.

Cherry Blossoms at the University of Washington (1)

Habits of mind for a joyous heart and soul

Mr. Larson’s quote reminds me that I am the captain of this ship. My words and thoughts create my reality, I need to choose them more carefully. The quote is a list of the habits of mind that will help you find peace and happiness.

It’s not out there, it’s in you. And it’s not to say that I am always the positive person doing everything in the poem at every moment. However, I am doing most of them, most of the time, and that’s really, really making my heart and soul lighter and brighter.

Expectations will get met, choose them mindfully

The beauty of the poem is that he translates noble ideals into day-to-day behaviors. For me, Little Ms. Worrywart Pessimist, he recommends: to talk health and prosperity to everyone you meet, to look at the sunny side of everything make your optimism come true. By the time he gets to think only of the best, to work only for the best and expect only the best, I finally get it. My expectations will get met, choose them mindfully

I also love the line:  To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to greater achievements of the future. That’s another area I get stuck, looking back and being so hard on myself. I am having to retrain my brain to stop going to that place. It’s an on-going struggle, but I’m making progress. We’ve all spent quite enough time dwelling on past mistakes and grievances, it’s time for us all to look on-ward and up-ward.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorraine
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 05:06:28

    (missing closing lines to Larson’s quote)…

    To think well of yourself and to proclaim this fact to the world, not in loud word, but in great deeds.

    To live in the faith that the whole world is on your side, so long as you are true to the best that is in you.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Words to live by – Pop’s Reprise by Common « Bonita Appleblog

Leave a Reply

