La Bonita got her tat!

I am listening to my latest mix, Revolucion!, and feeling like Bonita Badass. I love love love the tat that Shiloah designed. She exceeded all my expectations. It is so beautiful and she hasn’t even gotten to the color, which is going to make it AMAZING!

Bonita y La Reina

Bonita y La Reina

I have been working on having faith, it’s not a natural state for me. When I left the shop last Tuesday, I felt so good about the meeting and the decision to work with Shiloah. But then, I had five days to second guess myself. What if I don’t like the design? Maybe I shouldn’t have decided to start the tat the same day I went in to see the design.  Or perhaps the most obvious question: Am I too old for this?  Because most 37 year old mothers of two don’t decide to get a tatoo….

Trusting myself

As you may recall, I was actually looking for a different shop when I walked into this one. The logo suited me, it reminded me of New Mexico, always a good sign. (It also makes me start singing Root Down by the Beastie Boys everytime, but that’s just a fringe benefit.) I am all about Tribe on so many levels. This just felt like the right shop, but I was now on a complete leap of faith. Scary!

The right shop.

The right shop.

Trusting those around me

The queen herself

The queen herself

I am a big believer in picking great people, giving them all the relevant info, and then trusting them to do what they do. This is my approach with my hair stylists, massages, and now tats. I came to Shiloah with ideas, but I was really open to anything. And that was a good thing, because what I got is so far from the ideas I came in with.

I came in thinking about a Japanese style tat, with water, a japenese coy or a spring blossom. I had looked up the symbolism and they all matched what I was going for.

In the course of the conversation with Shiloah, I mentioned how I am naturally drawn to flowers, always have been. I had bought artwork for our house over the last year and looked up one day and realized I had brought home 4 different pictures of flowers.  (I am actually on flower time-out for artwork currently.)

Before

Before

Being from New Mexico, one of my favorite things about Seattle is the bloom season here. It kicks off in March with daffy’s and tulips. Next come the rhodies, peonies and gladys and all the flowers of summer.

And then, in late summer, comes the mighty dahlias. Brilliant reds, oranges, yellows, purples. They can be huge or tiny, spiky or rounded.  They are amazing in the variety of colors and types of flowers. They have been my favorite flowers since I learned what they were. Mr. Applebum started growing them for me some years ago, so I look at them when I’m at the kitchen sink which is, you know, half my life.

And just in case it all wasn’t cosmic enough…

When I came in yesterday, she showed me the design and I was FLOORED. It was so perfect, in ways neither of us could have tried for. It was interesting that there were four flowers. I have always loved the power of 3. I’ve been a part of many powerful groups of three. But I am a four now. There are four little flowers in the Applebum family, that’s who I am.

When I told Shiloah that, she said, “You’re kinda freaking me out.” Turns out when she started the design, she had this strong sense that there had to be three flowers. She drew and drew, but couldn’t get it to look right. When she added the fourth flower, it totally worked. We never discussed numbers prior. That’s all Shiloah Reina, cosmic tat goddess. And so, without further ado:

Can you hear the angels singing?

Can you hear the angels singing?

Bonita Badass

Bonita Badass

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stepplebum
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 12:58:34

    Absolutely love it!!!

    Reply

  2. Sarah G
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 21:42:08

    The tattoo looks great – especially for 37 miss Appleblog. No one defining how you’re going to do it! Your tat at this time in life just says you’re still livin’ and livin’ right.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: De Colores! « Bonita Appleblog

Leave a Reply

