Be here now for the occasion

Does that look like a relaxed face?

Does that look like a relaxed face?

I really have trouble sitting still. I’ve always been energetic and busy, but this is different.  I will sit for 3 or 5 minutes, then see or think of something else I need to do, and I pop back up. Some days it feels like I’m bouncing around the house like a pinball. It’s not important stuff,  it’s just all those little things always need doing all the time. And I resent it, yet really can’t just let it go and sit still for awhile.

In the post A mind like water , I talked about how an overstressed mind tends to overreact or underreact to situations. I definitely fall on the over-react side of things. Unmanaged, my brain leaves me making things overly complicated, giving too much weight to insignificant things and worrying incessantly about things that never happen. And the more stressed or tired I am, the more I do it. That’s why I had to embark on the cosmic colonic, I couldn’t continue to live in that stressed-out, uptight state.

Focusing on the wrong stuff

In A deeper more meaningful life,  I spoke of how my crazy brain can get the best of me. If left unchecked, it takes over, leaving me obsessed with tasks, details and unfinished work. When my brain starts spinning, my body reacts as well. My face muscles tighten, I clench my jaw, tense my shoulders and neck, and can feel it all the way down my back. Before the colonic, that was how my body felt most of the time- that tense state was my norm.

I was exhausted from focusing on the wrong stuff. And I resented missing the good stuff. Although the truth was, even when I was there for the good stuff, I wasn’t enjoying it. Because I was distracted by the noise in my head, so even though I was there, I wasn’t really there. And that kept me from experiencing the joy that was happening in my life everyday.

A life of ease and well-being

I have been dismantling our life. Getting rid of tons of stuff, streamlining what we have. Putting thought into what our lives should look like and then making choices to support those priorities.  Our house, after more than a year of clearing space, is serene with just enough, but not too much.

Serene living space.

Serene living space.

And a few times a day, I find myself really present in my life. It happens when I pick the baby up out of the crib and stand there holding her close, cherishing that moment.  Or when I sit outside in the evening looking at the lovely trees surrounding our house and feel relaxed with a sense of well-being.

Time to be kind

Slowing down our lives has affected how I am in the world as well. It is so nice not to be in a hurry all the time. How much of your day do you spend annoyed because you are late and others are slowing you down? When I arrive at an intersection at the same time as another car, I motion for them to go ahead.

It’s great not being that annoyed person who doesn’t have time for courteous behavior. At the grocery store, I don’t care if the person ahead of me is writing a check. I let the elderly lady go ahead even though it may take awhile.  I relish in having time to be polite and gracious. Our day to day life is so much more pleasant and I feel good about the example I am setting for my children.

In the moment, eating chips.

In the moment, eating chips.

Say it for the healing of the nation

I want to live in the moment. It is the root of a peaceful, joyful life.  I am not there yet, but I get glimpses of it. It requires letting go of so much and approaching your life mindfully. It’s so contrary to our modern w, but we are miserable in our modern lives. There is another way, but we have to choose it.

Here’s a little inspiration. The title of this quote came from a song called 1% by the Visionaries. Here’s the lyric: (The reason they have no video is because the are underground, homie. UNDERGROUND!)

Back to basics, say it for the healing of the nation:

learn to be here now for the occasion.

Patience paving a new way out of enslavement

Leads to staged events in creation’s tent.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchie
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 08:18:49

    Those moments when you find your self able to breathe easily are the best. I find that I have less now that I am working out side the home, but it seems to make those that do come all the sweeter. Sometimes I think I get an idea and then it just snowballs to a bit of a “zoo”, but it has lately seemed to turn out Ok if I just let go and see where the experience takes me. Thanks for the reminders not to take things too seriously and give myself, and everyone around me the time to be gracious

    Reply

  2. qweerdo
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 09:20:08

    Ok. I found you.
    This is where I am on the internet:
    http://qweerdo.livejournal.com/
    http://www.youtube.com/user/qweerdo

    Thanks for the CD.

    James, Jim, Jimmy, Whatever.

    Reply

  3. brian
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 12:47:04

    very nice… seems like days go by between breaths… it is necessary that we make a conscious effort to slow things down and focus on what we are doing where we are, and also that we have to make changes and manage the change in order for things to stay that way. thank you for the reminder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

