Clark Griswold taught me everything I know about exterior illumination

I decided to take Cosmic Mama’s advice and get pro-active about bringing holiday joy into our home. So as she recommended, I got the Christmas lights out and made it a family project to decorate for the holidays.

Holiday Cheer

That's me out there on the ladder.

I hung the lights inside the house and it looked pretty good. In a fit of goodwill towards Mr. Applebum, I decided to start the outside lights.

That’s when everything got dicey. For one thing, sunset is before 4:30 here, so it started getting dark quickly. There are also ladders involved and I’m never confident on ladders. And I was hanging lights on one of our itchier evergreens (I actually know all our pine trees well, this is one of the more difficult ones to work with) hence his new nickname: Itchy McRasherson. And did I mention it started raining?!

Needless to say, it did not go well. The ladder was slick and dangerous, I almost fell twice. I persisted out of sheer stubborn obstinence, but when I plugged the lights in to see how all my hard work looked, only half the lights were working. It was than, as I was angrily tugging down the lights, in the dark and rainy weather, while standing on a wet ladder, that I started feeling like  Clark Griswold.

And I can’t post clips from this classic holiday movie without including this scene. I remember the first time I saw this in college, I laughed for a half hour. As you should know by now, I have a very silly sense of humor and Clark Griswold is right up my alley. Enjoy!

Joy and good cheer.

Happy Black Friday Ya’ll! Please do anything, ANYTHING besides shop!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma E
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 14:08:41

    Hey Bonita!
    Much appreciation for your blog and the Christmas Vacation memories. Your casa is looking good, mama, it is inspiring my to start on my own!
    p.s. evergreens are not to be messed with!!

    Reply

  2. runningwithavagina
    Dec 18, 2009 @ 22:03:11

    “Well, what can I say except, it’s Christmas and we’re all in misery.”

    “Ellen? Are you smoking again?”

    “Nooooooo!”

    That movie is annual watching for our family. That and Love Actually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

