Is it time to lighten your load?

It seems like the last year, well last decade really, has left us all with a lot of baggage. It’s like looking at your house the morning after a great party. It’s pretty trashed but it was so worth it.  So as you look around your life on this first month of the new year, what mess do you need to clean up? What do you need to get rid of, to lighten your load into a new decade?

These are guilded cages.

I have spent the better part of two years clearing out things I don’t need. I have been reading my blog entries which chronicled the Cosmic Colonic which is the name I gave to the process.  It feels like such a long time ago. Our living space has been so cleared out and serene for so long now, I can’t remember it any other way.

As clutter and excess baggage have been removed, I have found clarity and peace. I have found time and space to think, create and connect. After the jump, some excepts to inspire you start your own journey of mental health and well-being.

A few excepts from the Cosmic Colonic Series

From  The journey of the cosmic colonic begins

I worked to find the proper owners for my embarrassment of riches. I had garage sales. I donated, I gave stuff to friends, family, neighbors.  I craigslisted hundreds of  items, many of them for free. I cleared out our storage space and then canceled it. And with every action, I felt a lightening. These gilded cages are oppressive. We have more than we could ever need and are miserable. Clearly, this isn’t what we were put here to do.

And every time I cleared out space, I left it empty. I would open doors as I passed by closets and just enjoy the emptiness. I didn’t want to start filling it all up with more crap, I wanted to fill these spaces mindfully. I bought myself art supplies for my  birthday, they found just the right home in the previously overstuffed laundry room closet.

From Clearing Space:

And as you are doing all this, start asking yourself what you want to be doing. What is it that you are complaining that you do not have time for. Because you time is going somewhere, just not where you want it.

So as you are clearing space, start thinking about how you would like to fill it. Would you spend more time with family? Volunteering? Travel? Crafting? Exercise? Chasing a dream?…Eventually, I cleared out enough clutter to hear the voices my muse myself think.

From Cosmic Colonic – clearing space for what matters

This is not just about clearing out your clothes closet. This is about dealing with years of crap stuffed into every nook and cranny of your living space, garage and storage. It’s about not being able to lay your hands on what you need when you need it. It’s about all the new stuff you buy, because have no idea what you already have.

My office was so overstuffed, I avoided it. This kept me from doing the things that were important, such as  taking pics of the kids or making my beloved music mixes.

From Cosmic Colonic, the journey begins

Most of us have at least one critical area desperately in need of clean-up, organization and better management. It could be the clutter in your house, over-scheduling, over-spending or poor health and nutrition. It could be all of the above. Because it’s all related and it manifests itself as chaos, illness, fighting and a myriad of other problems. And the only way to address is to begin by taking a hard look at your house / health / family / life.

It is so worth it!  You know it is. We cannot continue to live an existence that is out of balance, unsustainable and unhealthy. It is keeping you from the work you are meant to do, the family you are meant to have and the connected life which we all crave.

Related:

Be here now for the occasion

A little bit, every day

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 08:36:33

    Great post. These are the kinds of things that have been on my mind lately as my world has been shaken up by my separation. Big changes make you focus on what is really important and what goals you want to set for the future. You do such a great job of putting all of that into perspective.

    Reply

  2. Dagney
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 17:59:14

    Eloquent!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

