All about Eve – I do what they can’t do, I just do me

The first time I heard Eve, my first thought was, “Who is this girl and why I haven’t I heard of her sooner?!” Eve is everything I dream of in a female hip hop artist – style, confidence, strength and mad skills.

As I said in an earlier post, MC Lyte set a high standard for female hip hop artists. I am glad to say, Eve is proof that MC Lyte’s legacy is alive and well.

There may be a dearth of female hip hop artists, but Eve holds it down for the ladies. That’s why it’s time you get to know her better. After the jump, your new favorite bad ass, Ms. E-V-E.

The Early Years

Diva Station gives a great in-depth bio for Eve. Eve has been in hip hop for 15 years. Early on, she was the First Lady of the Rough Ryders, a rhyme syndicate featuring DMX. From those earliest of days, she held her own with the big boys. Not just the Rough Ryders, the big dogs. In 1999, she recorded a verse on a song with the Roots with Erykah Badu and was already considered a great new talent in hip hop. From  the beginning, Eve was not good for a girl, she was just good.

Always taught to hold my ground, that’s why I’ll always be his queen.

This early video from 1999 shows everything that would become hallmark of Eve – killer flow, great clothes and style, and a positive alternative to the hyper-sexualized female rap artists of the time. (I’m looking at you, Lil’ Kim.) From the very beginning Eve is a breath of fresh air and a unique voice, such as this video opening with children playing, not her writhing around, scantily clad as we had come to expect from main stream rap. Her cropped hair, tats, and clothes are Eve dressing for herself and other females. She is sexy, but it is HER version of sexy, not some guys. And what chick wouldn’t want to kick it with Eve in her sequin pants on the stoop with her homegirls?

Eve – Who’s that girl?

Her second album, Scorpian, let the world know exactly who she was. She was a self-assured, confidant woman who wrote lyrics worth reading. I can watch this video over and over, this is who I want to be. She is tough and cool as hell. She is sexy from a place of strength and power, not exploitation.

And she does it with a natural sense of humor and playfulness.  The more you watch this vid, the funnier she gets. And did I mention chica can dance?! You know how I feel about the Harlem shake.

Watch they mouths drop, watch the crowds pop up and act out.

She received a number  award nominations for Scorpian and won a grammy for this collaboration with Gwen Stefani.

Eve’s becomes a hyphenate

Eve began to branch out. Between 2002-2004, in addition to dropping her third album, Eve-olution, she had her own series on Fox and a clothing line Fetish. She also starred in a number of movies, including Barbershop and XXX with Vin Diesel. More recently she has starred in Whip It with Drew Barrymore and as a recurring character on Glee.

Eve, like Missy Elliot, has a great sense of humor and ability to laugh at herself. And clearly Eve is  a Jezzie:

Why no new album?

With all the acting, I began to worry that we had lost Ms. Eve to bigger and better things. Turns out, Eve never left the game, her album ran into a series of delays due to corporate change at the record label. The next album, which has been stalled in record company reshuffling since 2007, has been reworked and is scheduled for release Feb. 26, 2010. Here’s a sampling of what we have to look forward to:

Eve – Give it to you girl

I can’t get enough of this video featuring Sean Paul. I think Eve looks totally Dominican here, although there’s a good chance she going for Boricua. Either way, she does latin as deftly as she does hip hop. I love her dancing at the end. This entire video feels like a big, fat love-letter to Latina women everywhere.

And Tamborine is your new favorite ass shaker. If you haven’t jumped up and started dancing yet, I guarantee this one will get you going. Eve forevah!

Bottom Line: My words, my way. Any questions?

Eve has redefined what it means to be a woman in hip hop. And I am so grateful for what she does. Eve is an artist you can feel good about supporting. As KRS-One said, “You have to be an educated consumer.” You can support good hip hop by spending your entertainment money on Eve and other such quality artists.

And one more to dance you out of here

Bang it in your whip to get your neck snappin’

Related Posts by Bonita Applebum

You gotta let them know, you ain’t a bitch or a ho

But like a brick wall, I’m too hard to break

A few of my fav dance moves from the naughts


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 21:53:45

    That Tambourine song is so catchy and fun to dance to, and I forgot about that song Gotta Man. Thank you for posting those songs, Eve is just cool.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The best (on-line) friends a homegirl could have « Bonita Appleblog

Leave a Reply

