Santa Fe is calling me home

Since writing the post about How Sir Mix-A-Lot led me to Seattle, it seems like the planets have aligned. Like things are so on right now, it’s kind of freaking me out. Don’t believe me, let me tell you about the last week.

As I mentioned, me and the nephew attended a most excellent reggae show at a club I’d never been to. What I didn’t tell you was that one of the first things I  saw was a sign that was so meaningful, I almost caught the vapors.

After the jump, the amazing sign and all sorts of other good things leading me back home.

Purple Reign! Prince vs. Micheal

So I saw this in the first 5 minutes I was in the club. Can you believe it?! For those of you who don’t know, the only thing I love more than hip hop, is Prince. I have been a Prince fan since elementary school I have seen him in concert three times. (Purple Rain, Sign of the Times, Musicology)

I know all the words, back-up vocals and harmonies to just about every song he made between 1999 and Emancipation. Prince has two entire sections in my cd collection. The day I found Batdance in the used bin at the music store, I cheered. I had not been able to replace the tape that the Sirocco eventually ate.

Team Prince 4ever

And as if that wasn’t mind blowing enough to see that poster first thing, check this out! That’s right, I actually referenced the Micheal vs Prince debate as one of my favortie memories of MJ. Funny thing is, it’s also one of my favorite memories of those laid back New Mexico years, when I first began to love music passionately. My love of all things Prince and hip hop began there in the desert.

I knew in that  instant that poster was coming home with me. And just in case you aren’t sure why I will be Team Prince Forevah, I respectfully submit this a true representation of his royal dancing purple badness. And please, watch until the very last second. He jumps up and lands in the splits wearing purple heels. And is still somehow very sexy. He’s a funky, funky little man. And a feminist at that. No undressed ho’s on his stage, just artists and musicians.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

We gonna chop that oak tree down and make a wooden leg out of it.

Shrine to my Inner Badass

Around this time, February had been wearing on me. But the great reggae show brought sunshine to my soul and I was ready to fight back. My cowboy boots came down from the closet and went on the dresser along with a few other offerings to my inner badass: some great music from some Jezzies, a copy Swass (which I have enjoyed immensely since the Mix A Lot post. ), the Queen of Swords (another gift from a Jezzie), some lucky coins and a tootsie roll. I also asked jezzies if they wanted to contribute to it on-line and some did!

And since the show, I cannot stop listening to Damian Marley’s most excellent album, Welcome to Jamrock. I knew many of the songs individually, (Big Ups, to Kid Hops!) but that is not the same as listening to the album in its entirety, from start to finish. An excellent album, like a work of art, is carefully crafted and constructed to come together as a completed whole. Welcome to Jamrock is a phenomenal album. ‘Nuf respect to Jr and his killer producer, Stephen! (And by now, I hope you know my policy on discovering great music: It doesn’t matter when you come to the party, as long as you get there!)

It was around this time that Mr. Applebum graciously offered me a mom’s getaway. Blame  Damian and Stephen Marley, Mix-A-Lot, and my nostalgic posts of the good old Santa Fe Days — I couldn’t resist any longer. Mama Bonita is going home. Hijole!

Related Posts by Bonita Applebum

New Mexico Road Trippin’

Tales from the Dance Hall floor

How Sir Mix-A-Lot led me to Seattle

Like Heavy D, I got so much trouble on my mind

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SomeAuthorGirl
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 08:56:32

    I’m also a New Mexican; loving reading that Road Trippin’ post!

    Reply

  2. Margo
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:12:20

    Bon voyage!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: We’re talking about moving a mountain « Bonita Appleblog

Leave a Reply

