It’s a thing: Jezzie Sister Solstice

I just had my first jezzie meet-up. Ms. Scout and myself had lunch in Capitol Hill and it was AWESOME. While there, we started scouting (he he) locals for the Seattle Sister Solstice in the park. What’s that? Well, I’m glad you asked.

What up, jezzie nation!

After the jump, my vision for the Jezzie Sister Solstice in the park! Because if you haven’t heard , it’s a thing. And everyone is invited to this party!

Save the date: Sunday, June 21st, 2010

So this basically what I had in mind. Just picture this outside at a park with everybody bringing some food to share and laying around on blankets enjoying the hell out of your jezzie sisters (and brothers! xo)

Why now? WHY THE HELL NOT! Seriously, it’s time. It’s hard to make friends after college. Here is this amazing pool of like-minded people who already know you. Why not have a meal and bask in the sun? It’s  just a few hours commitment. You have nothing to loose and everything to gain! Trust me, I’m the hip-hop sage, I know these things.

Kickin’ it grassroots style

We are going to follow the Obama model. This isn’t one big party, it’s hundreds of small ones on the same day: June 21, 2010. You can host your own in your town and find the jezzies near you. Or you can travel to one close by. For example, we will  host a big picnic here in Seattle and we would LOVE to have our Portland and Vancouver BC jezzies come play. But they are welcome to host their own as well. It’s up to you and what you want to do.

Step one: Find your peeps, find a place

I set up a hashtag on jezzie: #sistersolstice for jezzie’s to start finding each other, but the meet-up hashtag is probably the best place to look for jezzies by geographic area. Some jezzies have already started trying to locate each other. I also recommend a meet-up between now and then. Just because it’s really fun, but also to connect, dream and scheme with some kindred spirits.

And start scouting a location. You are looking for a park that is centrally located for people without cars with lots of room, where they won’t mind a rambunctious group who may start dancing. Also a good idea to start your jezzie summertime playlist, because I guarantee there are gonna be some KICK ASS soundtracks made for this party.

And check this blog for further updates as well. Because if Bonita has one gift, it’s to bring people together for a GOOD PARTY! So mark your calendars and start finding your local jezzies. It’s gonna be…..wait for it………legendary! xo

Janice, could you give us the benediction?

Related posts by Bonita Applebum

The best (on-line) friends a homegirl could have

We’re bringing back the mix tape

I got my star!

Dance like no one is watching

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. UtterNutter
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 10:32:52

    LOOK AT MY BEAUTIFUL GIRLS TOGETHER IN SEA-TOWN!

    Sister Applebum – I was on my porch last night pondering names for this event and thought about the solstice, and sisters, and solstice sisters (which I believe is a band?). Great minds, indeed.

    Gonna do my best to party with y’all in the 206. If not, I promise to party here.

    xo

    Reply

  2. token_liberal
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 13:14:01

    Damn, I’m going to be in Seattle two weeks later to see a baseball game. You guys are going to have a blast.

    Reply

  3. brenbrowning
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 14:16:31

    Count me in for the Seattle Sister Solstice. Also, PDX Jezzies are free to carpool up with me. We can play Applebum mixes the whole ride to get in the right groove. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Roseylivesonaboat
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 17:45:58

    This sounds Awesome! And you guys look like you had a really fun day, I’m a teensy bit jelous! x

    Reply

  5. TippiHedren
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 17:58:06

    Count me in for Seattle!

    Reply

  6. Scout
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 18:25:06

    for those of you coming up from PDX – you are welcome to crash at my place. i’m a simple woman who lives in a large studio apt so, it would be an air mattress sitch but, if you need to, the option is there.

    Reply

  7. Mr.gawn
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 12:29:33

    what does PDX stand for?

    Reply

  8. Brittany
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 13:16:27

    Bonita! This is I Believe in Peace, Bitch from jezebel coming out on your blog. I’m quite jealous of you and Scout. I love your Sistersolstice idea, and you have inspired me to seek out some jezzies from Denver.

    Now I’m off to explore your blog. Catch you in an open thread.

    Reply

  9. Janice Joplin
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:24:23

    Any chance today is the groovy solstice park party?
    And if so, where might the lucky park be?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

