Time for change!

I love to change my hair up. I have had so many styles over the years. I look back so fondly at the various cuts, they represent the phases of my life.

I started growing my hair out four years ago, after wearing it very short for a few years. I’ve really enjoyed having another long hair phase of my life. But lately, I’ve been bored with it and knew it was time for a change.

After the jump, the new Bonita!

A ponytail is not a shower

According to my old stylist, long hair just means  a ponytail everyday. And that’s exactly how it had become with me. My long hair was always back and up. I tried to shake it up– braids, hats, different styles, but really, it was just always pulled back severly from my face. And it was a pain to wash and dry, you wouldn’t believe how long it takes hair to dry here in the Pacific Northwest.

So it’s not surprising that it was time for change, what surprised me was how decisive I was and how quickly it all happened. Because on Monday I had long hair and by Friday, well, it was a whole new Bonita!

Truly Outrageous!

Once I had decided a change was needed, I went to the ultimate place for all your health and beauty questions: the Jezebel Hive Mind. I asked for haircut suggestions and within the hour, Trulyoutrageous generously offered her own dream cut. As soon as I saw it, I knew we had a winner. Texture on the ends, a modern length with a little sass. I never looked back.

As I walked into the salon and told my stylist that I was there to cut it off, she immediately started trying to talk me out of it. “How short were you thinking?” she asked with a concerned look on her face. I think she was afraid I would regret a severe cut in the morning. Tactfully, she asked, “Do you have a picture?” I showed her the pic. She took one look and said, “CUUUTE! Go for it!” I was so glad she was on board, it felt like the right decision. So without further ado: Bonita – Spring 2010!

Let’s hear about a change you made or are ready to make! It’s time to shake it up ya’ll, didn’t you get the memo?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margo
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 13:47:27

    Gorgeous! It really, really suits you – that smile looks like it goes deep.

    Reply

  2. Brenbrowning
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 14:07:21

    Hey sassy lady!! Love this style. You are beautiful mama. P.S. I miss you! Hope all is well.

    Reply

  3. Todd
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 14:31:47

    LOVE IT!

    Reply

  4. hannahanloveyoulongtime
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 14:50:48

    Your hair looks FANTASTIC. I’m so glad to see you back and doing well!

    Reply

  5. Jessysaurusrex
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 22:59:19

    Oh, you look gorgeous! Work it, boo!

    After splitting with my ex-fiance in the summer, I took the plunge and whacked my hair off like you wouldn’t believe. I’m in an awkward grow out phase– it’s fine, I don’t care, I just miss being able to pull it out of my face, and when I can pull it out of my face I’ll be happy again– but don’t regret trying something new at all.

    Reply

  6. toe-to-toe
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 06:58:07

    Hawtness!! Lookin’ good, lady!

    Reply

  7. GiggleLoop
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 18:30:40

    I’m so jealous, you can wear pixie, long, or mid-length and still look incredible. But I love the new cut; it’s like you’re welcoming a new, fantastic phase of your life.

    And you are the spitting (younger) image of one of my favorite professors in college. As far as I know, she wasn’t the hip hop maven you are, but she loved Seattle.

    Reply

  8. Mandy
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 08:06:28

    Very nice! I love a new haircut.

    I am giving up on bangs and letting them grow out again. And, I am seriously considering going short again – chin or above.

    Reply

  9. Jamy B.
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 18:44:39

    Beauuutiful! I love it Erin! I’ve wanted to cut my hair for years – but I never could bring myself to do it..I’ve never really had it short, er..shorter than my shoulders. Love your boldness girl!

    Reply

  10. Roseylivesonaboat
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 09:50:00

    Looooookin good Lady Bonita!

    Reply

  11. Fuerza
    May 16, 2010 @ 17:33:59

    Ooooo you look great!

    Reply

  12. Janice Joplin
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:21:51

    I took my dark brown hair to super white nantastic locks this year…!
    Your change looks super btw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

