Dream Board Saturday

She's crafty

This weekend I wanted to make some time for relaxation and self-care. I have been feeling a dream board coming on for months. I’ve been collecting beautiful cards, notes, art and pictures with the intent of making a inspirational collage when I had some time.

After the jump, samples, ideas, inspirational music and my work of art!

The power of positive thinking

Dream boards are such an effective way visualize those things you want to bring into your life. I have long believed in the power of thought to manifest  reality- that is to say, whatever you believe will happen, does. So it’s important to picture positive things in your life. The dream board is a great way to get yourself thinking and visualizing the things you most want for yourself.

Get out your scissors and glue

Le Art BoxIt seems digital dream boards are all the rage on-line these days. I’m glad people are embracing the value of a dream board, but I wouldn’t give up the experience of physically making one. I enjoy the tactile experience of  working with paper, scissors, paint and glue. It’s nurturing to flip through magazines with lovely pictures and find images that speak to my soul.  A dream board is a vision quest of sorts, it’s a time to think, dream and listen to that inner voice that is so hard to hear. We rarely give ourselves enough time for contemplation and thinking big. So on Dream Board Saturday, I enjoy giving myself a day to savor the process. So I put on some great music and get out the art box.

The evolution of my dream boards

I’ve done a three or four dream boards over the years.  It’s great for times of change, when you really want to envision where you want to be. My first dream board included pictures of happy people and idyllic scenes, coupled with some good luck charms. Over time, they’ve included more people and quotes, fewer places and things. Different people have moved and inspired me at different times. People featured on my dream boards include: Maya Angelou, Mother Teresa, Martin Luther King Jr, the Dalai Llama, Nelson Mandela, Carlos  Santana, Ice Cube, Queen Latifah, and Jam Master Jay, among others.

This video from Beyonce really inspires me.  Her dancing is amazing, I watch it and marvel at how long it took to learn and perfect that routine. She is such an amazing performer  and I like the messages she puts out. It’s always these themes of powerful women who know their own value. I always picture fifth grade girls singing and performing her power anthems at slumber parties and am glad she does what she does.  I also love that she is married to the King of New York, yet still maintains her own career, status and talent.

Other things to include

Jezzie Love

My media has evolved over time as well. I’ve always liked to include things besides pictures. I’ve attached poker chips, foreign coins, tarot cards, ticket stubs, greeting cards, cd artwork, beautiful paper, quotes, notes from friends, envelopes  and postcards. I have been getting tons of cards and packages in the mail from jezzies, friends and relatives. All of these have been carefully saved for just this purpose.

Here are many dream board samples and approaches to get you thinking. You don’t have to know where you are going to get started. I had no idea what my dream board was going to look like when I began. I had been saving all these bits and pieces for months, but was still surprised by the common themes that emerged. I am not going to explain what this board means to me, but the final product is booth comforting and inspiring.

As with any project, by the time I finish, I’m so over it. But looking over my work of art,  I really like the colors and images. Every picture speaks to my heart in a meaningful and uplifting way. Many of the pieces are from cards or gifts sent in the mail by dear loved ones, both in real life and on-line. As I dug through all the cards and cd’s sent in the mail (and there were many KILLER mixes included) I was amazed by how much love and support was around me this whole time. Thank you so much!

This board will be put in my bedroom so it is the first thing I see when I wake up and the last thing I see before I go to sleep. It is people who inspire me and remind me of the power of truth, humor and our higher calling in this world. And it makes me smile, which is always a good thing.

Good luck! And I would LOVE to see your dream board!

Juju, could you please give us the benediction?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Margo
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 06:39:07

    Inspiration is everywhere – now I have something to do this afternoon, now I’ve tamed the housework to manageable levels of filth. Your board is gorgeous, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

