Bonita, Bonita, Bonita

Bonita Applebum is more than a killer name, it’s a hip hop archetype. Don’t believe me? They wrote a song about it, wanna hear it? Here it goes:

Bonita Appleblog has had 20, 000 pages views ya’ll! Thanks for sharing the last year with me. Let’s celebrate! It’s  a Bonita Applebum dance party.

After the jump, more songs showing love for hip hop’s dream girl:  Bonita, Bonita, Bonita!

BEP

There’s actually  a few old school references thrown around in this song, including one for the Black Sheep. *Sigh* Remember BEP before they sold their soul to the devil for fortune and fame?

Nobody beats the Biz

Well, check it.

The B-I-Z!

PM Dawn

I’m not sure if LL Cool J really did pull off a love rap, but PM Dawn sure did .  This is a good song, I’m impressed with how well it stands up after all these years. PM Dawn was really under-rated, I don’t think they got the respect they deserved.

The Fugees

This song samples Bonita Applebum which is part of why I loved it the first time I heard it. I adore Lauryn Hill, then and now. And this video is really funny, worth watching all the way to the end!

Bonita Applebum Revisited

As always, Tip should have the last word. He started this, he should close it. Enjoy!

Got a little older, a tid bit wiser.

Other posts on bad ass females in hip hop

All About Eve – I do what they can’t do, I just do me

Like a brick wall, I’m too hard to break

You gotta let them know you ain’t a bitch or a ho

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thanks I'll Eat It Here
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 16:57:37

    That Bonita Applebum remix is incredible. Thanks for making my day.

    Reply

    • Bonita Applebum
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 19:38:06

      That made me smile. Thanks! Putting up more music, both old and new. Love all the remixes I stumble across on youtube. Thanks for reading and listening!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

