Ghetto superstar, that is what you are

So I looked this song up, after reading about the backstory. I’d heard the song before, but never seen the video. Turns out, it’s pure summer goodness. And of course, seeing ODB, got me craving a couple of his old school classics.

Just in time for the weekend, three must-see videos that will send you scurrying off to i-tunes to purchase these most excellent summer ass-shakers, which is what I did. This is what I’ll be bumpin’ on the way to the lake this weekend.

After the jump, the back story for Ghetto Superstar and my two favorite ODB songs, with videos that just keep getting better and better. So turn it up, but be forewarned there will be very offensive lyrics. His name is Ol’ Dirty Bastard, what do you expect?

Some got hopes and dreams, we got ways and means

The backstory of Ghetto Superstar From Ego Trip’s Book of Rap’s Lists:

During the recording of this top 40 favorite, Wu-Tang Clan drunken master Ol’ Dirty Bastard accidentally bumrushed Pras’ recording studio when he stumbled into the wrong studio. After ODB was invited to contribute vocals, the formerly squeaky-clean Bulworth smash as given its now-famous Dirty Treatment.

OBD Forever

I respect the Wu, but I’m not a fan. I have always had some favorite jams from the various members, but as a group, I just can’t get into their albums. They are hilarious, but much too violent and raw for my tastes. I do have a soft spot for ODB, always have. Ever since I heard this song:

Give me your number, I’ll call you up

Both these videos remind me of why I just can’t stay mad at the Wu, no matter how nasty they get.  It always feels like are writing for each, trying to crack each other up, which makes it fun to hear and watch. And for me if you can keep it funny, I’m much less likely to get offended. And I have to respect that what the Wu Tang do, they do well.

RIP ODB. You are missed.

Related Posts by Bonita Applebum

Bonita, Bonita, Bonita

Santa Fe House Party

You gotta let them know, you ain’t a bitch or a ho

Sir Chuck D.

Leave a Reply

