I heart the Electric Company

Electric Company is so awesome. The little Applebums have just discovered it on Netflix on-demand. And with guest appearances by Common, Nee-yo and Jimmy Fallon (all in one episode no less!) mama loves to watch it with them. This clip featuring Lin-Manuel Miranda is so clever and the flow is killer:

After the jump. some killer clips featuring some hip hop all-stars. And a clip of my favorite character, Danny Rebus. Because seriously, if I could send him a fan letter, I totally would!

Danny Rebus

Whoever did the casting for Electric Company did a phenomenal job. Every single one of the kids on the show is amazingly talented. I have a number of favorites, but Danny Rebus is at the top of the list.  He’s a nerdy, sensitive dude in high-water pants. He steals  every scene that he is in, it’s his delivery that kills me.

You never know who will show up

My kids have no idea who Common is, but I do. I love how silly he is in this skit. It’s inspiring to see all these hip hop superstars come out for an educational kids show. The bad apples in rap get all the press, but there’s a ton of good that comes out of the genre as well!

Uncle L

Wyclef Jean

Related Posts by Bonita Applebum

Words to live by – Pop’s Reprise by Common

Reach Out!

Get thee to the library!

Robot Party – a green birthday on a budget

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda McClung Hand
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 09:41:17

    Kevin likes to randomly yell, “HEYY YOUUU GUYYYSS!!!!”
    We really like EC too.
    My personal favorite is Shock (I think that’s his name) – that guy can do anything! Beatbox, rap, dance you name it.
    (Although Hector is a total dreamboat.)

    Reply

    • Bonita Applebum
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 10:05:09

      I love Hector and Francine Curruthers. All the pranksters are having a blast and you can tell. Such a talented, talented bunch!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

