Don’t be a hard rock when you really are a gem

The 3o hour dance party continues: #30AssShakers30Hours

Just realized we haven’t heard boo from the ladies, that ain’t right.  I think the end of the golden age of hip hop was marked by the rise of Sean “whoever the hell he is now” Combs. Lauryn Hill dropped her amazing album which for me, was literally a ray of sunshine just when I thought hip hop and I were gonna have to part ways.

The first time I heard this song, I was in a club in Boston. My date had gone to the restroom, but the song was too amazing to wait for him to get back, so I ran out and danced alone. I can remember the moves the song ignited in me, even thought it was almost 15 years (!) ago.  The next day I bought the album and it’s been in steady rotation since. I did a blog post all about Ms. Hill’s most excellent album. Lauryn and Erykah are musical goddesses, the hip hop boys always show them much respect.

Leave a Reply

