You free your mind, your a$$ will follow

The 3o hour dance party continues: #30AssShakers30Hours

I stumbled accross this cd in the used bins years ago and it is a treasured favorite. If you can get your hands on it, you will not be disappointed. It’s classic Parliament Funk songs featuring hip hop artists. Check out the artwork. George Clinton on his throne with some rap dudes in the background giving ’nuff respect. When I heard Flashlight featuring Q-Tip and Busta Rhymes, I just about lost my mind.

Flashlight has been a favorite since I dated a dj in college. The only time we got to dance together was when he put on Flashlight because the song is hella long! Even hearing this, I can picture him rocking in his dreads and birkenstocks. Shout out to DJ Rainbow in the 505! xo

After the jump. one more from….wait for it…..Coolio.

Representing West Coast, Compton, Cali

I’m not really sure why Coolio didn’t do better. I like his flow, he’s wicked funny and quite clever. Yet after Fantastic Voyage, he just never hit it big again. Not that he didn’t try.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda McClung Hand
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 21:00:30

    *Like*

    I once learned a drill team routine to Atomic Dog!

    You know, since you’re a real Gen-exer and I’m just a straggler, I figured you’d have been more into rock. But I’m glad you’re not because it’s been fun getting schooled in hip hop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

