Get away from the bar, tell your boyfriend hold your jar

The 3o hour dance party continues: #30AssShakers30Hours

Dizzee Rascal is deep in the UK grime scene so I’ll let Wikipedia explain him because it’s beyond my area of expertise:

His music is a mixture of UK Garage and hip-hop beats with an extremely broad palette of influences, ranging from metal guitars to drill and bass synth lines, eclectic samples and even Japanese court music. Dizzee Rascal also makes extensive use of un-coupled octuplets and double and triple couplets in his machine-gun-paced staccato lyrics. Like most grime artists, he uses “beats born of ringtones, video games and staticky pirate-radio sounds”[13] Dizzee’s tracks are traditional grime in that the beats are often asymmetrical and make it difficult to dance to his music.

As a dancer, I get that I probably love the songs Dizzee’s hardcore fans loathe. But I don’t care, I like his flow and he is all about the music which is what matters to me.

After the jump, my other two favorites. Because if I’m gonna offend his hardcore fans, I might as well go all the way!

I act real shallow but I’m in too deep

When that bassline comes in, it is all over for me! Makes we want to be in a UK club something fierce.

More destructive and troublesome than ever

This is a more typical sound for Dizzee, but this song is old, I think his sound has evolved a lot since then. But this is what they are referring to when they say assymetrical beats. This song is awesome but good luck dancing to it.

Leave a Reply

